top of page


What’s the perfect recipe for preparing kids for a lifelong learning adventure?

Join Nicole and Heidi in an exciting exploration of
'What is the AEDC? as they break down the five key ingredients of the AEDC Domains for the perfect recipe for lifelong learning!

Discover the importance of the five AEDC domains and why it is essential for parents and carers of Aboriginal children to understand the significance of the Australian Early Development Census (AEDC) and learn how the five AEDC domains can guide each child's well-being and lifelong learning journey.

The Australian Early Development Census (AEDC) is a population-based measure of how children in Australia have developed by the time they start their first year of full-time school. Teachers complete a research tool, the Australian version of the Early Development Instrument, for each child in their class. The Instrument measures five key areas, or domains, of early childhood development.

These five AEDC domains are:
• Physical Health and Wellbeing
• Social Competence
• Emotional Maturity
• Language and Cognitive Skills (school-based) and
• Communication Skills and General Knowledge

Each of these domain areas is closely linked to the predictors of adult health, education and social outcomes.

Watch as Nicole and Heidi uncover the important role of AEDC data in guiding schools, communities, and governments towards supporting the future and well-being of children throughout Australia.

A sincere thanks to our stars Nicole and Heidi for creating this fun and engaging video for all!

This video is a collaboration between Connected Beginnings Lutruwita/Tasmania and The Department for Education, Children and Young People.

Our collective aim was to demystify the process and purpose behind the AEDC and the KDC and to deliver vital information that is shared directly from an Aboriginal perspective, fostering increased understanding and engagement within communities.


bottom of page